It Could Be Worse, You Could Be Me

“Ariel Leve is the love child of David Sedaris and Fran Leibowitz. An original and funny voice…. Insightful and sharp.”
— Joan Rivers

“Ariel Leve is brilliant and funny and the only other person I know without an oven. Buy this book and keep it close.”
— Bill Nighy

“Funny, smart, delightfully cranky”(AJ Jacobs) Ariel Leve’s Sunday Times Magazine (London) column “Cassandra” moves to book form. It Could Be Worse, You Could Be Me offers a humorously bleak perspective on life’s potential to turn out badly… and Ariel’s innate ability to put the black cloud into the silver lining. This is a book for schadenfreude aficionados; for readers who identify with Cassandra’s slogan, “worrying is my yoga”; and for fans of Seinfeld, Ugly Betty, Sex & the City, Curb Your Enthusiasm, David Sedaris, Woody Allen, and New Yorker cartoons.

Reviews from Goodreads.com

Write a review (you'll need to sign in to your Goodreads account or sign up) (showing 1-10 of 64)
By Jennifer (Calgary, AB, Canada) · ★★★★☆ · May 13, 2010
Good Stuff

* Wickedly funny, must remember to not read this stuff while at the Reference desk, my snorting out loud continuously was upsetting the college students (Freaks them out that library staff have a sense of humor)
* After reading it I realized that things could be worse in my life and th... ...more
By John (Seattle, WA) · ★★☆☆☆ · June 10, 2010
Leve writes well, but the more I read, the more I grew to dislike her as a person. What's so "funny" about someone who's perpetually pessimistic? She came across as rather smug to me. Moreover, unless one is familiar with her "Cassandra" persona details before reading the book, there are gaps. Sh... ...more
By Jim (Ballwin, MO) · ★☆☆☆☆ · May 23, 2013
What could be worse than being Ariel Leve? Reading her book. Wow, this is bad. Bad enough that I'm breaking my own rule against reviewing a book that I didn't finish. In most cases, it wouldn't seem fair - not giving the book a fair shake. But if I can protect just one person from It Could Be Wor... ...more
By Meredith (The United States) · ★★☆☆☆ · September 28, 2010
This book got two stars from me only because it kept me reading until the end, although, if I'm being honest, that was only because of the way the chapters were broken up into short chunks. Overall, I found the author to be more whiny than Dorothy Parker-ish, substituting wit for a near-constant... ...more
By Heather G (Morrisville, NC) · ★★★★☆ · August 19, 2010
About 75% of the time I was thinking it sounded as if someone had taken out my brain and squeezed it onto paper. The hypochondriac part not so much. I loved the combined sarcasm and honesty. Will read anything this author comes out with. ...more
By Patrick (Orpington, The United Kingdom) · ★★☆☆☆ · September 18, 2011
Kill me now.

Maybe Ariel Leve should try stand-up comedy, because this is completely the wrong medium for her brand of humour. Face to face, she would probably be very funny and could possibly replace Jackie Mason as our favourite New York Jewish pessimist. But it just doesn't work in print.

What... ...more
By Jennifer (Buffalo, NY) · ★☆☆☆☆ · May 05, 2010
Well, here is another fine example of why I need to write a book. I know I say that a lot. This one was too bad, though- I think that she seems more like a wannabe stand-up comedian then the annoying, miserable, paranoid hypochondriac she makes herself out to be in this "humor/memoir." I didn't b... ...more
By Jillian (Philadelphia, PA) · ★☆☆☆☆ · January 29, 2010
Perhaps her journalism is riveting, but this was extremely boring. I could certainly identify, but to me the minutiae of each self-conscious thought one has are not worth transcribing... ...more
By Denise (Los Angeles, CA) · ★★☆☆☆ · May 09, 2012
Ehhh, I thought a book about someone constantly complaining about everything and was more paranoid than my worse nightmare would make me laugh.... it didn't ...more
By V. (Toronto, ON, Canada) · ★☆☆☆☆ · August 05, 2014
Plain boring collection of worries. Relatable, but not told in a funny or witty or anything way. ...more