Claudius desires total conquest. Caratacus will fight for freedom. An epic battle is coming, in this second gripping and visceral novel of the Roman invasion of Britain, for fans of Conn Iggulden and Simon Scarrow. 43 AD: in Southern Britain, Caratacus, chief of the Britons, watches from a hilltop as the scarlet cloaks of the Roman army spread across his land like blood. Among them is Rufus, keeper of the Emperor’s elephant, an unwilling participant in the invasion of Britain. The Roman legions smash into the British forces, but just as victory seems at hand, they wait. Reinforcements are coming, led by Emperor Claudius himself. And Rufus will have a very special part to play in the coming epic battle. Heroes will be made and kings will fall in a struggle that will echo through the annals of history.

Reviews from

Write a review (you'll need to sign in to your Goodreads account or sign up) (showing 1-10 of 19)
By Thomas W (Wellington, G2, New Zealand) · ★★★★☆ · April 11, 2014
I rarely read historical fiction but the ancient Romans have always fascinated me - and my copy of this book came cheaply in a book sale.

I expected it to be bloodthirsty, with horrible deeds, and it did fulfil that expectation, of course; the reason I put off reading it at first.

The violence coul... ...more
By Eed99 (The United States) · ★★★★☆ · December 08, 2012
I enjoyed this book.

I think what I liked most about this book is there was a lot of action, and I really liked the fact that Caratacus while the main antagonist in the story was very complicated and not portrayed as evil.

The relationship between Caratacus, his brother and the Druid were interesti... ...more
By Mary (Springfield, OR) · ★★★★☆ · November 02, 2011
"Claudius" by Douglas Jackson really isn't about the emperor Claudius but about his invasion of Britain as seen through the eyes of his elephant handler, a slave named Rufus and the opposing chieftain of of the Catuvellauni tribe, Caratacus.

The story begins shortly before one of the decisive batt... ...more
By John (Bristol, B7, The United Kingdom) · ★★★★★ · October 11, 2013
Being a bit of a geek when it comes to all things Roman, I read Douglas Jacksons first book Caligula and thoroughly enjoyed it not just becasue of the subject but becasue it was different. Rufus the Emperors Elephant trainer is the main character and in this book he returns as the llegions invade... ...more
By Marie (New Zealand) · ★★★★☆ · August 14, 2013
This was the first book by Douglas Jackson that I've read and enjoyed it immensely. I realise now that this the second in a series of books but not having read the first book didn't deject from my reading enjoyment.

With a passion for the Romans and from Britain this book sung to me. The descript... ...more
By Scott (The United Kingdom) · ★★★★☆ · February 27, 2012
I enjoyed this novel a lot - up to a point around three quarters of the way through. I won't spoil the plot, but I reckon there was a lot of unnecessary anti-climactic filler after the main part of the story had concluded. It would have been better to leave it on a high. Having said that, Mr Jack... ...more
By Bill (Brighton, bn26df, The United Kingdom) · ★★★★☆ · February 02, 2015
Another very enjoyable read though not quite as good as Hero of Rome. ...more
By Lyndsay (Mount Hope, ON, Canada) · ★★★★★ · July 29, 2012
Amazing! Somehow Jackson makes it possible to sympathize with both sides in this epic tale about the conquest of Britain... he creates characters that are both noble and faulted, at the same time. He has peppered the novel with vividly detailed battle scenes and the characters I have come to love... ...more
By Bill (Bozeman, MT) · ★★★☆☆ · October 22, 2011
Another guilty pleasure, with a modicum of historical value but an entertaining read nevertheless. ...more
By Margareth8537 (Egremont, The United Kingdom) · ★★★★☆ · June 07, 2013
Entertaining way to bring in the conquest of Britain-an animal trainer with Claudius' elephants ...more