Indecent Exposure Defense Lawyer in UtahWhat is Indecent Exposure?Public UrinationChoose an Experienced Defense Attorney for a Complimentary Indecent Exposure Case Review
Indecent Exposure Defense Lawyer in Utah
If you, a family member or loved one has been charged with indecent exposure or
lewdness in Utah, it is crucial that you seek immediate representation by an exp erienced,
indecent exposure lawyer to examine your case and help determine your legal o ptions.
Contact Wasatch Defense Attorneys today for a FREE consultation at 801-845-3509.
What is Indecent Exposure?
The words ‘indecent exposure’ are a legal term that refer to the act of exposing one ’s
genitals in a public setting and is classified as a sex crime in the state of Utah. A c harge of
indecent exposure, or lewdness, can carry harsh penalties including fines and ja il time that
will depend on the nature of the offense and previous convictions. An offense agains t public
order and decency, of bodily exposure, in the presence of another person who is fo urteen
years of age or older that will knowingly cause alarm is considered indecent exp osure or
lewdness according to Utah criminal code section 76-9-702: Lewdness.
The Beehive State’s indecent exposure law, Utah Criminal Code section 76-9-7 02 outlines
First or Second Violation of Indecent Exposure
A first or second violation of indecent exposure is considered a class B misdem eanor and is
punishable by a fine of up to $2,500 and/or up to a six-month jail sentence, if convic ted.
Specific exposure in public is defined as revealing genitals, the pubic area, buttoc ks, anus
or the female breast below the top of the areola. The act of indecent exposure does n ot
include sexual intercourse, sodomy or masturbation.
Indecent Exposure Third-Degree Felony
The penalty for indecent exposure convicted as a third-degree felony carries fines of up to
$5,000 and/or up to five years imprisonment. The conviction of indecent exposure or
lewdness is escalated to a third-degree felony if the follow circumstances are inv olved:
Has already been convicted of lewdness two or more times.
The accused person is a convicted sex offender in violation of sex offender
restrictions: Utah Code of Criminal Procedures 77-27-21.7.
Has previously been convicted of lewdness involving a child.
It is illegal to urinate or defecate in a public place other than a public restroom in the state of
Utah. Depending on the circumstances, the offense of public urination can be char ged as a
class C misdemeanor or lewdness, which is generally a class B misdemean or. While a
class C misdemeanor carries a punishment of up to $750 in fines and/or up to 90 d ays in
jail, a class B misdemeanor is punishable by fines of up to $1,000 and/or up to six months
Choose an Experienced Defense Attorney for a Complimenta ry Indecent
Exposure Case Review
If you have been charged with lewdness or indecent exposure in Utah, it is important to
contact a qualified, experienced indecent exposure attorney to safeguard your legal rights
and ensure the best possible outcome. Wasatch Defense Lawyers believe that everyone
deserves a fair trial and we are here to support you and your family during this diffi cult time.
Call us today for a free, no-obligation case review at 801-845-3509.