Things to Know About the Hahnenkammrennen

Text-only Preview

The Hahnenkammrennen held annually at Kitzbühel, Austria is one of the most
anticipated Ski Races. It is where the best of the best in the sport best each other and
try to best the mountains if they can. Below is all you need to know about the
prestigious event.
What is the Hahnenkamm?
The Hahnenkamm is actually a mountain in Austria. It is located south of Kitzbühel, in
the Kitzbühel Alps. It is also the name of the part of the ski resort in Kitzbühel that hosts
the annual World Cup Alpine Ski Races, the Hahnenkammrennen. Its classic downhill
course is legendary for many reasons. The Streif is known as the most technically
demanding course in the World Cup circuit. Many of the turns on the course have little
to no visibility, adding to the challenge and danger.
When is the Hahnenkamm Race Held?
Originally, the races were held in March when they first started. There were a couple of
times, in 1949 and 1951, where the races were held in February. Since 1953, the races
have always been held mid to late January. This coming season will be the 76th and will
be held on January 19-26, 2016.
Where is the Hahnenkamm Race Held?
The Hahnenkamm Race is always held in the small medieval ski resort town of
Kitzbühel, Austria.
Hahnenkamm Race Slopes
The slopes at Hahnenkamm have a total length of 3,312 meters. With jumps of up to 80
meters and steep slopes with 85% gradient the average speed at which ski champions
go through the slopes is at 103 km/h. However, speeds have been known to reach as
much as 140 km/hr. There is an 860m height difference between the starting point and
the finish.
Kitzbüheler Ski Club (K.S.C.) Trivia
The Kitzbüheler Ski Club (K.S.C.) has been organizing the Hahnenkamm Races since
the early 1930’s. The club itself has been in existence since 1902 and is one of the most
prestigious, oldest, most traditional and most successful ski club in all of Europe, if not
the world. The Ski Club’s top athletes have bagged a total of 53 medals from several
Olympic Games and World Championships.