Utah Burglary LawyerDegrees of Penalties for Burglary in UtahSentencing for a Burglary ConvictionHelpful Legal Terms and DefinitionsChoose a Qualified Criminal Defense AttorneyComments
Utah Burglary Lawyer
Burglary is an unlawful entry offense that also involves theft, property crim es and is
accompanied by assault, lewdness, and lewdness involving a child or voyeu rism on
another person. Utah code §76-6-202 states that a person commits burglary if he or she
unlawfully remains in a building with the intent to commit a felony against another person. If
you or a family member has been charged with burglary, you need an affo rdable,
qualified Utah burglary lawyer to protect your rights and your reputation. Contact
Wasatch Defense Attorneys today for a free, no-obligation consultation at 801-845-
Degrees of Penalties for Burglary in Utah
The state of Utah defines the offense of burglary into two separate catego ries,
depending on the location of the crimes committed. A defendant wil l be charged with
third degree burglary if the offenses were committed in a commercial building. A burglary
occurring in a home or residence is charged as a second-degree burglary. The
seriousness of the offense will also be taken into consideration when charg es are
Third-Degree Felony Burglary
The offense of third degree burglary is unlawful entry of a building or business
with intent to commit theft, property damage, and violence against another
Second-Degree Felony Burglary
Burglary committed in a residence, including the intent to commit theft, a ssault
and/or sexual assault against another person is considered a second-degree
felony in Utah.
Sentencing for a Burglary Conviction
When a defendant is convicted of burglary, the judge or jury then conside rs
sentencing parameters for the individual crimes that were committed duri ng the
burglary. A number of things are taken into consideration, including:
If violence against another person was involved.
The severity of the crimes committed during the burglary.
The value of the stolen property.
The defendant’s previous criminal history.
Penalties for third-degree felony burglary in Utah may result in fines of up to $5,000
and a maximum of 5 years in prison. Second-degree felony burglary is pun ishable by
fines of up to $10,000 and a maximum of 15 years in prison. Wh en violence is involved,
the judge or jury will often order the maximum punishment allowed by law.
Helpful Legal Terms and Definitions
Defendant – Someone who has been charged with a crime.
Felony – When a crime is committed with the use of violence or theft.
Intent – Determination to commit an act on purpose.
Misdemeanor – A misdemeanor is more serious than an infraction o f the law but is
less serious than a felony.
Assault – Inflicting physical harm upon another person.
Lewdness – The act of being sexual in an offensive manner.
Lewdness Involving a Child – The act of being sexually offensive in the presence of
a child, or directing sexually offensive acts towards a child.
Voyeurism – Secretly observing individuals undressed or undressin g to obtain
Choose a Qualified Criminal Defense Attorney
If you have been charged with burglary in Utah, it is important to contact a qualified,
experienced criminal defense attorney to help you understand your legal ri ghts and
ensure the best possible outcome. Wasatch Defense Lawyers have a proven track
record and will utilize every resource available to prepare your legal defense . We
believe that everyone deserves a fair trial and our aggressive criminal at torneys will
advocate for you if you’ve been charged with an alleged misdemeanor or f elony. Call
us today for a free, no-obligation case review at 801-845-3509.